Picnic & Paddle

Spirit Island in the Haw River is located just downriver from a dam and powerhouse
that in the early part of the twentieth century supplied electricity to a textile mill in
Swepsonville, NC. Today, the Island is remote, wild, peaceful and a wonderful place to
escape the stresses of an urban lifestyle.

We begin this canoe and/or kayak trip at the Swepsonville River Park Access paddling a short distance to spirit island and the puryear portage.  We will stop on the river just after the portage for a picnic lunch!Following lunch, our paddle will take us downriver to Saxapahaw. Because of the remote nature
of this stretch of river, birds and wildlife are easily seen. Volcanic rock outcrops along
the shoreline show evidence of an interesting geologic past. Guests are asked to bring a picnic style lunch packed in a waterproof container.  (no glass items please)

Fee: $40 per person with the canoe/kayak provided.

 

 

 

 

Next dates:
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 21 July 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 4 August 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 25 August 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Sunday, 9 September 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 22 September 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 6 October 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 20 October 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 27 October 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 3 November 2018
  • Subscribe to eventAdd event to google11:00 am Saturday, 24 November 2018